Facts About Tasmania

The island of Tasmania is the southern-most state of Australia. Separated from the Australian mainland by Bass Strait, Tasmania lies 240km to the south, on a latitude of 40 degrees south.

Tasmania has a cool temperate climate with four distinct seasons. Tasmania’s capital city, Hobart, is no further from the equator than New York or Madrid. Hobart has the second-lowest rainfall (626 mm or 24 inches) of all Australian capital cities and the average summer temperature is a pleasant 21°C (70°F). The winter average is 12°C (52°F).

The island of Tasmania is 364 kilometres (226 miles) long from north to south, and 306 kilometres (190 miles) wide from east to west. Tasmania’s landmass is 68,401 sq km (26,410 sq miles). Tasmania is surrounded by the Indian and Pacific Oceans and, as already mentioned, separated from mainland Australia by Bass Strait.

Geographically isolated, Tasmania is known for its unique flora and fauna. Many flora and fauna species are unique to Tasmania, and some are related to species from the super continent of Gondwana, 50 million years ago.

Almost 45% of Tasmania lies in reserves and national parks, including World Heritage Sites. The subantarctic Macquarie Island and its surrounding islands are also under the administration of Tasmania as a nature reserve.

The Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area is a World Heritage Site made up of a network of parks and reserves.

The national parks and reserves that make up the Tasmanian Wilderness World Heritage Area are:

  • Central Plateau Conservation and Protected Areas
  • Cradle Mountain-Lake St Clair National Park
  • Devils Gullet State Reserve
  • Franklin-Gordon Wild Rivers National Park
  • Hartz Mountains National Park
  • Mole Creek Karst National Park
  • South East Mutton Bird Islet
  • Southwest National Park
  • Walls of Jerusalem National Park